It’s been a busy month or so. Family member in the hospital, crazy garden work, crazy husband doing a crazy sailing race, new work responsibilities with a demanding manager… I’m doing alright, but I have no time for extras. So I missed last month’s Can Jam. Unfortunately, that may mean I’m out of the round-up, but I’ll keep doing the Can Jam. I’m LOVING this project. :)

So, for June, I’m WAAAY late, but here’s my recipe:

Drunken Sour Cherries
Adapted from Bernardin Complete Book of Home Preserving
Yield: 6 half-pint (250mL) jars, plus 3 half-pints of syrup
Level: Beginner to Intermediate

1 cup granulated sugar
2 cups water
5 cups sour cherries with pits (or 7 1/2 cups pitted)

Per Jar
1 1/2 tsp Kirsch

1. Prepare canner, jars, and lids.
2. In a large stainless steel saucepan, over medium-high heat, combine sugar and water. Bring to a boil, stirring to dissolve sugar. Add cherries, stirring constantly, and return to a boil. Reduce heat and boil gently for 5 minutes.
3. Using a slotted spoon, pack cherries into hot jars to within a generous 1/2 inch (1 cm) of top of jar and add the Kirsch. Ladle hot syrup into jar to cover cherries, leaving 1/2 inch (1 cm) headspace. Remove air bubbles and adjust headspace, if necessary, by adding hot syrup. Wipe rim. Center lid on jar. Screw band down until resistance is met, then increase to fingertip-tight.
4. Place jars in canner, ensuring they are completely covered with water. Bring to a boil and process for 10 minutes. Remove canner lid. Wait 5 minutes, then remove jars, cool, and store.

I had extra syrup at the end, so I did three more jars as above, but without the cherries. Yum!

Drunken Sour Cherries

Click for tigress can jam food blog challenge